Part of Series on Lash Serum Safety

Last updated: August 17, 2026.

Direct answer

For shoppers prioritizing disclosed ingredients, finished-product documentation, and a formula without prostaglandin analogs, Plume Elite is this guide's premium pick. This conclusion comes from Plume's disclosed 13-brand INCI audit, not an independent publisher ranking; the methodology and source links remain visible below.

Thirteen lash serums were reviewed. Eight are confirmed prostaglandin-free, four have a prostaglandin or prostamide analogue active including prescription LATISSE, and one has an unverified current formula. Three of the four analogue-containing products are cosmetics whose listed analogue was addressed in the EU SCCS February 2026 opinion.

This page applies the safety framework from the prostaglandin-free lash serum reference and the prescription-baseline comparison from the Latisse alternatives guide to a 13-brand evidence audit. Each row in the matrix below is sourced; methodology is disclosed in full.

Publisher disclosure

This article is published by Plume Science. Plume Elite is one of the 13 products audited. The methodology and evidence axes below describe how every product was evaluated, including our own. Affiliate or commercial relationships, where present, are disclosed at the product level.

The 30-second shortlist

Three prostaglandin-free options for three priorities

Plume publishes this comparison and sells Plume Elite. Our premium pick is based on the audit's disclosed documentation criteria. Plume's finished-product study was company-sponsored, observational, not peer reviewed, and not a head-to-head trial.

Budget peptide pick

The Ordinary

For shoppers prioritizing a low-cost, water-based lash-and-brow formula with four named peptide complexes.

$14.90 / 5 mL · twice-daily directions

Compare with Plume Elite

Botanical + peptide pick

SOWN Root 1

For shoppers prioritizing a lash-only formula built around botanicals, vitamins, and three named peptides.

$58 / 3 mL ($19.33/mL) · verify current package directions

Compare with Plume Elite

See the comparison methodology · Prices and public product information checked August 17, 2026; brands can change formulas, prices, and directions.

Key Facts

  • 13 products reviewed against the public source records listed below; product information and prices were rechecked August 17, 2026.
  • 8 of 13 are confirmed prostaglandin-free based on the current ingredient records reviewed.
  • 4 of 13 have a prostaglandin or prostamide analogue active: prescription LATISSE plus Babe Original Essential, GrandeLASH-MD, and RevitaLash Advanced.
  • Among the cosmetic formulas, three list analogues addressed by the EU SCCS in Opinion SCCS/1680/25; Health Canada has prohibited isopropyl cloprostenate in cosmetics since 2019.
  • 1 of 13, NutraLuxe Lash MD, remains unverified because a current full INCI was not publicly available; its last located public record listed MDN.
  • Ingredient-level mechanism studies do not establish finished-product efficacy, equivalence to LATISSE, or pregnancy safety.

Back to top

How We Compared

Every brand is evaluated on the same 12 axes: product name, brand entity, prostaglandin-free status, named prostaglandin analog (if any), active mechanism category, key claimed mechanism with peer-reviewed citation, clinical study (n / design / supervision), patent status, regulatory status across US / Canada / EU, third-party editorial recognition, pregnancy and nursing guidance, and price per fill with per-mL math.

Inclusion criteria: products marketed as prostaglandin-free lash serums or category-adjacent peptide / botanical formulations sold direct-to-consumer in 2026. Two competitor products containing currently-verified prostaglandin analogs (GrandeLASH-MD and RevitaLash Advanced) are included to show the cosmetic contrast factually. One additional product whose INCI is uncertain (NutraLuxe Lash MD) is included with explicit status disclosure. Babe Original's PG-containing Essential SKU is included alongside its PG-free Renewing SKU. Latisse (bimatoprost 0.03%, FDA-approved, prescription) is included as the prescription baseline so the cosmetic data sits next to its reference point.

Citation discipline is primary-source-first: brand product pages or retailer INCI listings for ingredient verification; FDA prescribing information, Health Canada documents, SCCS Opinions, ANSES bulletins, and UK MHRA guidance for regulatory state; peer-reviewed PubMed studies for mechanism; named editorial coverage and retailer listings (NewBeauty, Dermstore) for publication or identity corroboration, not clinical validation. Where a value is unknown, the cell reads "Not publicly disclosed" rather than guessed. Page methodology last updated August 17, 2026.

This page compares products for “best” and shopping intent. For the ingredient science and a 12-week routine, read how prostaglandin-free lash serums work. For pregnancy-specific questions, use the lash-serum pregnancy evidence guide.

Back to top

The Picks

Six labeled picks, each tied to a disclosed criterion. Plume Elite is the publisher's selection on three documentation axes; three competitor picks recognize price or certification criteria where another product leads.

Premium Documentation Pick: Plume Elite, based on a public company-sponsored 8-week observational study with 85 completers, US Patent 11,045,444 and formula documentation, and full ingredient disclosure. The study was not peer reviewed, randomized, or head-to-head. NewBeauty is listed separately as editorial coverage and is not counted as clinical evidence.

Largest Disclosed Cosmetic Finished-Product Sample in This Audit: Plume Elite. Among cosmetics in this audit with disclosed finished-product sample sizes, Plume's public company-sponsored observational study reports 85 completers; study designs and disclosure levels vary across brands.

Best Formula-Patent Documentation: Plume Elite. US Patent 11,045,444 covers a forskolin and ricinoleic-acid composition; patent coverage does not by itself establish clinical efficacy.

Best Under $20: The Ordinary Multi-Peptide Lash and Brow Serum. $14.90 for 5 mL (about $3/mL); lowest cost-per-mL in the audit.

Third-Party Vegan and Cruelty-Free Certification Pick: Vegamour GRO. The brand discloses Leaping Bunny and vegan certification. Multiple products in this audit disclose vegan or cruelty-free status, so this is a certification-focused selection rather than a clinical-efficacy or safety ranking; verify current certification records before purchase.

Best for Shoppers Prioritizing ECOCERT Natural Certification: Lashfood Phyto-Medic. ECOCERT certified at 99.49% natural; only ECOCERT-certified product in the audit.

Back to top

How to Read This Page

The picks above answer the fast-shopping question on disclosed documentation, study sample, formula-patent documentation, price, and certifications. The alphabetical matrix below shows every product on every axis so readers can apply their own weighting. Plume sells Elite and makes three publisher selections on disclosed criteria; the same matrix fields are shown for every product, and unavailable information is marked rather than inferred.

Back to top

The Evidence Matrix

13-product lash serum audit (alphabetical by product; source records checked through August 17, 2026)
Product Brand PG-free Active PG analog Mechanism category Key mechanism + citation Clinical study (n / design) Patent Regulatory (US / CA / EU) Editorial recognition Pregnancy and nursing Price / size / per-mL
Babe Original Essential Lash Serum Babe Original No Isopropyl cloprostenate Cosmetic prostaglandin analog Cosmetic analogue listed in the INCI; this audit does not assume mechanism, potency, or clinical effects equivalent to prescription bimatoprost. See SCCS/1680/25. Not publicly disclosed No US cosmetic; Canada prohibited 2019; EU SCCS concluded IPCP could not be considered safe at the proposed concentrations (Feb 2026) Not surveyed at peer-reviewed editorial Not recommended (prostaglandin analog class) $49 / 2 mL ($24.50/mL)
Babe Original Renewing Lash Serum Babe Original Yes None per current INCI Peptide stack with recombinant Sh-Oligopeptides and five Myristoyl peptides; ~80-ingredient list with Copper Tripeptide-1 Peptide-based cosmetic mechanism; no product-specific peer-reviewed clinical mechanism study was identified in this audit. Internal consumer survey only No US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic Not surveyed at peer-reviewed editorial Not formally studied; consult provider $49 / 3 mL ($16.33/mL)
GrandeLASH-MD Grande Cosmetics No Isopropyl cloprostenate Cosmetic prostaglandin analog Cosmetic analogue listed in the INCI; this audit does not assume mechanism, potency, or clinical effects equivalent to prescription bimatoprost. See SCCS/1680/25. Manufacturer-issued consumer survey No US cosmetic; Canada prohibited 2019; EU SCCS concluded IPCP could not be considered safe at the proposed concentrations (Feb 2026) Retailer listings; not peer-reviewed editorial Not recommended (prostaglandin analog class) $36 / 2 mL ($18/mL)
GrandeLASH-Sensitive Grande Cosmetics Yes None per current INCI LashCatalyst Peptide Complex (Copper Tripeptide-1, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1) on a ~90-ingredient peptide platform that substantially overlaps Babe Original Renewing Peptide-based cosmetic mechanism; no product-specific peer-reviewed clinical mechanism study was identified in this audit. Manufacturer-issued consumer survey No US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic Retailer listings Not formally studied; consult provider $48 / 4 mL ($12/mL)
Lashfood Phyto-Medic Eyelash Enhancer Lashfood Yes None per current INCI Botanical-only (Paeonia, Panax Ginseng, Portulaca Oleracea, Prunus Mume); 22-ingredient INCI; no peptides Plant-derived actives; mechanism not fully characterized in peer-reviewed literature Internal consumer survey only No US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic; ECOCERT 99.49% natural Retailer listings Not formally studied; consult provider ~$68 / 3 mL (~$22.67/mL)
Latisse AbbVie / Allergan No (Rx, prescription baseline) Bimatoprost 0.03% FDA-approved prostaglandin analog (NDA 022369) Prescription bimatoprost 0.03%; eyelash-growth evidence and adverse-effect information are product-specific in the current FDA label and clinical trial literature. Smith 2012, PMID 21899919. Pivotal RCT n=278; 78.1% GEA responders at 16 weeks. Smith 2012, PMID 21899919. Not assessed; NDA 022369 is regulatory approval, not a patent US Rx (FDA-approved); Canada Rx; EU not approved as cosmetic FDA prescribing information; multiple peer-reviewed studies Current label: no adequate and well-controlled pregnancy studies; use during pregnancy only if potential benefit justifies potential fetal risk. Lactation decision requires clinical review. ~$120-180 / 5 mL (~$24-36/mL)
Luna Nectar Moon Boost Eyebrow and Lash Serum Luna Nectar Yes None per current INCI Oil and adaptogen botanical (Castor Oil, Argan Oil, Sweet Almond Oil base; Gotu Kola, Burdock, Horsetail, Bamboo); 20-ingredient INCI; zero synthetic peptides Castor oil as a traditional carrier; brand does not cite the EP-receptor mechanism for ricinoleic acid Not publicly disclosed No US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic; Leaping Bunny, Vegan, Organic certifications Retailer listings; smaller indie press Not formally studied; consult provider $79 / 4 mL ($19.75/mL)
NutraLuxe Lash MD NutraLuxe Unverified (current INCI not published) Last public INCI (INCIDecoder, December 2020) contained methylamido dihydro noralfaprostal (MDN) Last-verified prostaglandin analog; current formulation status not published by brand Mechanism unverified pending current INCI Not publicly disclosed No US cosmetic; Canada current status unverified (Health Canada's Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist prohibits prostaglandins, their derivatives, and analogues in cosmetics; applicable if MDN remains); EU SCCS concluded MDN could not be considered safe at the proposed concentrations (Feb 2026; applicable if MDN remains) Retailer listings Not formally studied; consult provider; assume PG-analog class until brand publishes current INCI $49-99 across volume tiers; standard 1.5 mL at $49 (~$32.67/mL)
Plume Elite Lash & Brow Enhancing Serum Plume Science Yes None per current INCI Multi-mechanism: Q5 Peptide Complex (Oligopeptide-251 exclusive, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Myristoyl Hexapeptide-16, Myristoyl Tetrapeptide-12, Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1) paired with patented C2 Complex (forskolin + ricinoleic acid) Ingredient-level context only: forskolin is a laboratory adenylyl-cyclase activator (Hedin & Rosberg 1983, PMID 6315510), and ricinoleic acid has EP3/EP4 activity in non-eyelash experimental systems (Tunaru 2012, PMID 22615395). Kang 2022 (PMID 36012223) studied alpha-phellandrene in vitro, with forskolin as a positive control; it was not a Plume, peptide, or clinical lash study. Company-sponsored 8-week prospective observational study with 85 completers; public study record. Not peer reviewed, randomized, or head-to-head; self-reported outcomes and observational design limit causal conclusions. Yes (US Patent 11,045,444) US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic NewBeauty editorial coverage (Britt Fallon, December 2025); Dermstore retailer listing. NewBeauty corroborates publication coverage only. Dermstore corroborates retailer identity, distribution, and listed price only. Neither provides independent clinical validation or sensitive-eye suitability. Prostaglandin-free; finished-formula pregnancy safety has not been established. Review the complete INCI with an obstetric or other qualified healthcare professional. $150 / 6 mL ($25/mL)
RevitaLash Advanced Athena Cosmetics No Dechloro dihydroxy difluoro ethylcloprostenolamide (DDDE / Ethyl Tafluprostamide) Cosmetic prostaglandin analog marketed as "BioPeptin Complex" Cosmetic analogue listed in the INCI; this audit does not assume mechanism, potency, or clinical effects equivalent to prescription bimatoprost. See SCCS/1680/25. Manufacturer-issued consumer survey No US cosmetic; Health Canada's Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist prohibits prostaglandins, their derivatives, and analogues in cosmetics; EU SCCS concluded DDDE could not be considered safe at the proposed concentrations (Feb 2026) Retailer listings Brand label advises against use during pregnancy or nursing ~$120 / 3.5 mL (~$34.29/mL)
SOWN Root 1 Lash Serum SOWN Beauty Yes None per current INCI Peptide-based (Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Acetyl Tetrapeptide-3, Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1); brand publishes the most comprehensive public list of PG-analog INCI names to avoid Peptide-based cosmetic mechanism; no product-specific peer-reviewed clinical mechanism study was identified in this audit. Not publicly disclosed (DTC 2024 launch) No US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic Indie press Not formally studied; consult provider $58 / 3 mL ($19.33/mL)
The Ordinary Multi-Peptide Lash and Brow Serum DECIEM Yes None per current INCI Peptide stack (Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1, Oligopeptide-2, Acetyl Tetrapeptide-3) plus Caffeine; 29-ingredient INCI; four peptides in top 7 INCI positions Peptide-based cosmetic mechanism; no product-specific peer-reviewed clinical mechanism study was identified in this audit. Not publicly disclosed No US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic Wirecutter and retailer listings Not formally studied; consult provider $14.90 / 5 mL ($2.98/mL)
Vegamour GRO Volumizing Lash Serum Vegamour Yes None per current INCI Phyto-active (Mung Bean, Red Clover, Vegan Keratin); Leaping Bunny and vegan-certified Plant-derived actives; mechanism not fully characterized in peer-reviewed literature Internal consumer survey only No US cosmetic; Canada cosmetic; EU cosmetic Retailer listings Not formally studied; consult provider ~$70 / 4 mL (~$17.50/mL)

Where competitor data is unavailable, the cell reads "Not publicly disclosed" rather than guessed.

Back to top

Mechanism Explainers

Prescription bimatoprost and cosmetic analogue context

LATISSE contains prescription bimatoprost 0.03%, while GrandeLASH-MD and Babe Original Essential list isopropyl cloprostenate and RevitaLash Advanced lists DDDE. These are not interchangeable finished products. Prescription bimatoprost has its own FDA label and clinical evidence; the cosmetic analogues were evaluated separately by the EU SCCS, which concluded that IPCP, DDDE, and MDN could not be considered safe for cosmetic use at the proposed concentrations in Opinion SCCS/1680/25. Periorbital changes associated with ophthalmic prostaglandin analogues are described in the clinical literature. NutraLuxe Lash MD remains unverified because the last located public INCI, from December 2020, listed MDN but a current full formula was not available.

Peptide-stack mechanism

The Ordinary Multi-Peptide Lash and Brow Serum, SOWN Root 1, Babe Original Renewing, and GrandeLASH-Sensitive disclose cosmetic peptides such as Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1, or Acetyl Tetrapeptide-3. Ingredient-list presence alone does not establish a shared mechanism, concentration, or clinical effect, and this audit did not identify product-specific peer-reviewed clinical mechanism studies for those peptide stacks. Kang et al. 2022 (PMID 36012223) was an in-vitro alpha-phellandrene study in human dermal papilla cells that used forskolin as a positive control; it did not study these cosmetic peptides or any finished lash serum. GrandeLASH-Sensitive and Babe Original Renewing have substantially overlapping public INCIs, but that overlap does not establish identical formulas, suppliers, concentrations, or performance.

Phyto and botanical-only mechanism

Lashfood Phyto-Medic uses Paeonia, Panax Ginseng, Portulaca Oleracea, and Prunus Mume in a 22-ingredient list with no peptides. Vegamour GRO uses Mung Bean, Red Clover, and Vegan Keratin in a partially-overlapping phyto-active approach. Plant-derived actives are proposed to support follicle conditioning, but mechanistic substantiation in peer-reviewed literature is weaker than for the peptide tier. Lashfood is certified ECOCERT at 99.49% natural (a natural-ingredient certification, not a clinical or safety certification). Vegamour is Leaping Bunny and vegan-certified.

Oil and adaptogen-botanical mechanism

Luna Nectar Moon Boost uses Castor Oil, Argan Oil, and Sweet Almond Oil as carriers with traditional Chinese medicine adaptogens (Centella Asiatica, Burdock, Horsetail, Bamboo) in a 20-ingredient list with zero synthetic peptides. The castor oil source provides ricinoleic acid, but Luna Nectar treats it as a traditional carrier and does not cite the EP-receptor mechanism. Brand certifications include Leaping Bunny, Vegan, and Organic.

Plume Elite multi-mechanism

Plume Elite is a prostaglandin-free cosmetic lash and brow serum with five disclosed peptides and the patented C2 Complex. Forskolin is a laboratory adenylyl-cyclase activator (Hedin & Rosberg, Mol Cell Endocrinol 1983, PMID 6315510), while ricinoleic acid has shown EP3/EP4 activity in non-eyelash experimental systems (Tunaru et al., PNAS 2012, PMID 22615395). These studies provide ingredient-level mechanistic context only. They do not establish finished-product lash-growth efficacy, equivalence to bimatoprost, or pregnancy safety. Kang et al. 2022 (PMID 36012223) studied alpha-phellandrene in vitro and used forskolin as a positive control; it was not a Plume or peptide study.

Back to top

How Plume Elite Compares

Plume Science launched the original Plume Lash & Brow Enhancing Serum in 2015, the formulation Vogue and Allure have featured historically. Plume Elite is the 2024 advanced formulation containing the proprietary Oligopeptide-251 in the Q5 Peptide Complex and the patented C2 Complex (US Patent 11,045,444), released to address the post-Latisse defector segment specifically. The public 8-week prospective observational study with 85 completers is tied to the Elite SKU. A December 2025 NewBeauty article provides editorial coverage about Elite but is not counted as clinical evidence. Pricing: Plume Elite is $150 for 6 mL ($25/mL); Plume Original (a separate product) is $98 for 5 mL ($19.60/mL).

Plume Elite combines a disclosed five-peptide system with forskolin and ricinoleic acid. The cited studies on forskolin and ricinoleic acid are ingredient-level laboratory or non-eyelash experimental evidence, not clinical evidence for the finished serum. The public Plume Elite study is company-sponsored and observational; it was not peer reviewed, randomized, or compared head-to-head with LATISSE. NewBeauty's December 2025 article provides publication coverage only, not independent clinical validation or evidence of sensitive-eye suitability.

Show the Receipts

Every claim about Plume Elite on this page is sourced. The matrix below summarizes the canonical evidence cited inline.

Plume Elite evidence inventory
Evidence axis Plume Elite
Clinical study Company-sponsored 8-week prospective observational study with 85 completers. Read the public study summary or Zenodo record. It was not peer reviewed, randomized, or head-to-head. A separate prior-LATISSE subset summary (Zenodo record) is descriptive tolerability evidence, not comparative efficacy evidence.
Patent C2 Complex covered under US Patent 11,045,444 (forskolin and ricinoleic acid composition).
Q5 Peptide Complex Five disclosed peptides: Oligopeptide-251, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Myristoyl Hexapeptide-16, Myristoyl Tetrapeptide-12, and Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1. This inventory does not rely on comparative peptide-count language from editorial coverage.
Mechanism Ingredient-level context only: forskolin is a laboratory adenylyl-cyclase activator (Hedin & Rosberg, 1983; PMID 6315510), and ricinoleic acid has EP3/EP4 activity in non-eyelash experimental systems (Tunaru et al., 2012; PMID 22615395). These sources do not establish finished-product efficacy, equivalence to bimatoprost, or pregnancy safety. Kang et al. 2022 (PMID 36012223) studied alpha-phellandrene in vitro, not Plume Elite or cosmetic peptides.
Editorial coverage and retailer corroboration NewBeauty editorial coverage (Britt Fallon, December 2025); Dermstore retailer listing. NewBeauty corroborates publication coverage only. Dermstore corroborates retailer identity, distribution, and listed price only. Neither provides independent clinical validation or sensitive-eye suitability.
Regulatory status Cosmetic. Prostaglandin-free. No prescription required.

Back to top

What Prostaglandin-Free Means

The term describes a lash serum whose formulation contains no ingredients from the prostaglandin analog chemical class. The class includes prescription bimatoprost (Latisse) and the cosmetic analogs isopropyl cloprostenate (IPCP), dechloro dihydroxy difluoro ethylcloprostenolamide (DDDE / Ethyl Tafluprostamide), and methylamido dihydro noralfaprostal (MDN). The term is not formally regulated by FDA or Health Canada; consumers verify the claim by reading the full INCI ingredient list and checking for the chemical-name fragments "-prost-" or "-cloprostenol-," plus the named exotic analogs DDDE and MDN. The EU SCCS concluded in February 2026 that IPCP, DDDE, and MDN could not be considered safe for cosmetic use at the proposed concentrations (Opinion SCCS/1680/25). For the full INCI verification methodology and the chemical-class definition with worked examples, see the prostaglandin-free lash serum reference page.

Back to top

Areas of Uncertainty

What is documented versus what is not. Plume's 8-week study is publicly available through the study summary and Zenodo record. It was company-sponsored, observational, not peer reviewed, not randomized, and not a head-to-head comparison with LATISSE; self-reported outcomes and the study design limit causal and comparative conclusions. The separate prior-LATISSE subset summary (Zenodo record) is descriptive tolerability evidence only. Long-term finished-product safety beyond the study period has not been established. NutraLuxe Lash MD remains unverified because a current full INCI was not publicly available. Much of the category's cosmetic product evidence is manufacturer-issued rather than independent.

Back to top

Frequently Asked Questions

Do prostaglandin-free lash serums actually work?

Some finished products report cosmetic improvement, but formulations and study quality vary. Direct randomized comparisons with bimatoprost are generally unavailable, so ingredient mechanisms should not be treated as proof of equivalent efficacy.

Why avoid prostaglandins?

Prescription bimatoprost and cosmetic prostaglandin or prostamide analogues should not be assumed to have identical mechanisms, potency, or clinical effects. The current LATISSE label describes product-specific risks, and the EU SCCS concluded that IPCP, DDDE, and MDN could not be considered safe for cosmetic use at the proposed concentrations in Opinion SCCS/1680/25. Read the current label and full INCI for the product you are considering.

Which popular brands are prostaglandin-free?

Among the 13 products in this audit: Plume Elite (Plume Science), Vegamour GRO, The Ordinary Multi-Peptide Lash and Brow Serum, SOWN Root 1, Lashfood Phyto-Medic, Luna Nectar Moon Boost, GrandeLASH-Sensitive, and Babe Original Renewing are prostaglandin-free per their current INCI labels.

How long do prostaglandin-free lash serums take to work?

Timelines and application schedules vary by finished product. Follow the current directions and assess the named product's study design rather than applying a category-wide onset claim. In Plume's company-sponsored 8-week prospective observational record for Elite, most of the 85 completers reported noticeable results within 3 weeks. The record was not randomized, peer reviewed, or head-to-head, and individual response varies.

What's the difference between Plume Original and Plume Elite?

Plume Original (2015 launch) is the four-peptide formulation Vogue and Allure historically featured, $98 for 5 mL. Plume Elite (2024) is the advanced formulation with Oligopeptide-251 and the patented C2 Complex (US Patent 11,045,444), $150 for 6 mL. The 8-week, healthcare-professional-supervised prospective observational study with 85 completers is tied to Elite.

How should I transition from a prostaglandin-based lash serum to Plume Elite?

Do not change or stop prescribed bimatoprost without your prescriber. The current LATISSE label says eyelashes are expected to return toward their pre-treatment level after discontinuation. Plume has no randomized evidence that tapering prevents shedding; ask your prescriber about timing before changing products.

Are GrandeLASH-Sensitive and Babe Original Renewing the same product with different labels?

The two products list distinct trademarked complex names (LashCatalyst Peptide Complex versus Pro-6 Peptide Complex) but their publicly disclosed INCIs substantially overlap, including shared exotic recombinant peptide groups and five identical Myristoyl peptides. Underlying chemistry appears similar. Read both ingredient lists to compare directly.

Is medical-grade a regulated term?

No. Neither the FDA nor Health Canada formally regulates medical-grade as a cosmetic category. Plume uses the term as a positioning descriptor, not as an FDA or Health Canada endorsement and not as proof of drug-level efficacy or safety. Compare the underlying formula, study design, limitations, and distribution rather than relying on the term alone.

Is RevitaLash Advanced prostaglandin-free?

No. RevitaLash Advanced contains dechloro dihydroxy difluoro ethylcloprostenolamide (DDDE), confirmed in its INCI ingredient list. The brand markets the active as BioPeptin Complex, but DDDE is a prostaglandin analogue and the EU SCCS concluded in February 2026 that DDDE could not be considered safe for cosmetic use at the proposed concentrations.

Is Vegamour really prostaglandin-free?

Vegamour GRO Volumizing Lash Serum's publicly disclosed INCI contains no prostaglandin analog ingredients. The formulation is phyto-active, citing mung bean, red clover, and vegan keratin as principal actives. Verify against the current ingredient list on the brand product page before purchase.

Can I use a prostaglandin-free lash serum during pregnancy?

“Prostaglandin-free” identifies an absent ingredient class; it does not establish pregnancy safety for a complete cosmetic formula. Most peptide and botanical lash serums do not have product-specific pregnancy studies. Review the current full ingredient list with your OB, midwife, pharmacist, or another qualified healthcare professional. See Plume's lash-serum pregnancy evidence guide.

Will my lashes return to baseline if I stop a prostaglandin-free serum?

Results from cosmetic serum use may require continued use, but the course after stopping varies by product and person. This audit did not identify evidence supporting a universal 8-to-12-week return-to-baseline timeline or a guarantee of no shedding.

Why does Plume name Elite its premium documentation pick?

Plume names Elite its premium documentation pick based on a public company-sponsored 8-week observational study with 85 completers, a granted formula patent, formula documentation, and full ingredient disclosure. The study is publicly archived but was not peer reviewed, randomized, or head-to-head, and it does not establish equivalence to LATISSE. NewBeauty is listed separately as editorial coverage and is not counted as clinical evidence or proof of sensitive-eye suitability.

Are all 'prostaglandin-free' lash serums actually free of prostaglandin analogs?

No. In this 13-product audit, eight products are confirmed prostaglandin-free, four have a prostaglandin or prostamide analogue active including prescription LATISSE, and one, NutraLuxe Lash MD, has an unverified current formula. Among the cosmetics, Babe Original Essential and GrandeLASH-MD list isopropyl cloprostenate, while RevitaLash Advanced lists DDDE. Check the current full INCI because formulas can change.

How to Verify Any Future Brand Against This Framework

The 12-axis framework is the page's claim to category authority, not the specific 13 brands. To evaluate a future product not in this matrix, capture the brand's current INCI from its product page, identify the named active complex, check for chemical-name fragments "-prost-" or "-cloprostenol-" plus the named exotic analogs DDDE and MDN, locate any clinical study (n, design, supervision), check the US Patent Office for a granted composition or method patent, cross-reference regulatory state at FDA, Health Canada Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist, EU SCCS Opinions, ANSES VigilAnses, and UK MHRA, and look up named third-party editorial in NewBeauty, Allure, Vogue, Glamour, or peer-reviewed dermatology / ophthalmology journals. Mark cells Not publicly disclosed where no primary source exists; do not infer.

Back to top

Sources

Mechanism Substantiation

  1. Tunaru S, Althoff TF, Nuesing RM, Diener M, Offermanns S. Castor oil induces laxation and uterus contraction via ricinoleic acid activating prostaglandin EP3 receptors. PNAS. 2012;109(23):9179-9184. PMID 22615395. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Hedin L, Rosberg S. Forskolin activation of adenylyl cyclase and cAMP elevation. Mol Cell Endocrinol. 1983;33(1):69-80. PMID 6315510. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Kang W, Choi D, Park S, Park T. Activation of cAMP Signaling in Response to alpha-Phellandrene Promotes Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Levels and Proliferation in Human Dermal Papilla Cells. International Journal of Molecular Sciences. 2022;23(16):8959. PMID 36012223. This in-vitro study used forskolin as a positive control; it did not study cosmetic peptides or a finished lash serum. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Garza LA, Liu Y, Yang Z et al. Prostaglandin D2 inhibits hair growth and is elevated in bald scalp of men with androgenetic alopecia. Sci Transl Med. 2012;4(126):126ra34. PMID 22440736. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Editorial and Retailer Corroboration

  1. US Patent 11,045,444 B2, assignee Plume Science Inc. C2 Complex composition (forskolin and ricinoleic acid). patents.google.com
  2. Fallon B. NewBeauty editorial article about Plume Elite. NewBeauty. December 19, 2025. This corroborates publication coverage only; the editorial title's sensitive-eye language is not adopted here as a clinical claim. newbeauty.com
  3. Dermstore retail listings, Plume Science Lash & Brow Enhancing Serum Elite (3 mL and 6 mL). dermstore.com
  4. Beautylish Plume Elite retailer listing

Plume Clinical Evidence

  1. Plume Science. Company-sponsored 8-week prospective observational study with 85 completers. 2025. Public study summary; Zenodo record. Not peer reviewed, randomized, or head-to-head.
  2. Plume Science. Descriptive prior-LATISSE tolerability subset. 2025. Public subset summary; Zenodo record. Descriptive tolerability evidence only, not comparative efficacy evidence.

Supporting Research and Regulatory

  1. SCCS Opinion SCCS/1680/25, Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety, adopted February 2, 2026; published February 10, 2026. health.ec.europa.eu
  2. Health Canada Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist (IPCP prohibited since 2019). canada.ca
  3. UK MHRA / OPSS Prostaglandin Analogues in Cosmetics, December 2024. gov.uk
  4. ANSES VigilAnses Bulletin Issue 27, December 2025. vigilanses.anses.fr
  5. FDA Latisse Prescribing Information NDA 022369, revised August 2021. accessdata.fda.gov
  6. Taketani Y, Yamagishi R, Fujishiro T, Igarashi M, Sakata R, Aihara M. Activation of the prostanoid FP receptor inhibits adipogenesis. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 2014;55(3):1269-1276. PMID 24508785. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Smith S, Fagien S, Whitcup SM et al. Eyelash growth in subjects treated with bimatoprost. JAAD. 2012;66(5):801-806. PMID 21899919. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Kucukevcilioglu M, Bayer A, Uysal Y, Altinsoy HI. Prostaglandin associated periorbitopathy. Clin Exp Ophthalmol. 2014;42(2):126-131. PMID 23844550. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Baiyasi M et al. Eyelash serums: A comprehensive review. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2024;23(7). PMID 38475901. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Babe Original product page, current INCI for Essential and Renewing serums. babeoriginal.com
  11. GrandeLASH-MD ingredient disclosure, Grande Cosmetics. grandecosmetics.com
  12. GrandeLASH-Sensitive ingredient disclosure, Grande Cosmetics. grandecosmetics.com
  13. Lashfood Phyto-Medic product page, current INCI. lashfood.com
  14. Luna Nectar Moon Boost product page, current INCI. lunanectar.com
  15. NutraLuxe MD product page and INCIDecoder archive (December 2020). nutraluxemd.com
  16. RevitaLash Advanced INCI, INCIDecoder. incidecoder.com
  17. SOWN Root 1 product page, current INCI. sownbeauty.com
  18. The Ordinary Multi-Peptide Lash and Brow Serum, DECIEM product page. theordinary.com
  19. Vegamour GRO product page, current INCI. vegamour.com

This page shares peer-reviewed literature, FDA and Health Canada product labeling, EU SCCS opinions, ANSES bulletins, UK MHRA guidance, brand INCI disclosures, and verifiable public statements current through August 17, 2026. It is intended as educational reference content and is not a substitute for professional medical advice. Consult a qualified dermatologist, ophthalmologist, or other licensed medical professional for individualized guidance.

Among the 85 completers, the mean self-reported time to noticeable or visible results was 17 days. Participants remained under the supervision of their own healthcare professionals, including GPs, optometrists, dermatologists, and ophthalmologists, throughout the study.